Volkswagen of Salem

3335 Del Webb Ave NE
Directions Salem, OR 97301

  • Sales: (855) 817 8984
  • Service: 855-817-8985
  • Parts: 855-417-2076

Understanding the Key Differences Between the NHTSA and IIHS

Before you purchase any vehicle, it is important to examine its safety ratings. There are two primary rating systems to consider that work to deliver a comprehensive picture. The automotive safety experts at Volkswagen of Salem want to equip you with the knowledge that you need to be able to understand these ratings.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) uses a star system with five stars indicating an exceptional rating. NHTSA ratings involve three tests that measure the likelihood of driver or passenger injury. The NHTSA is a federal government organization.

The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) is a nonprofit organization that receives funding from various insurance companies. The IIHS gives out four possible ratings: Poor, Marginal, Acceptable, and Good. All vehicles are put through five tests to determine its safety rating. After the ratings are added up, the IIHS awards its Top Safety Pick+ to the highest performing vehicles.

Categories: Social